Diversified Portfolio

After reading a ton of information across various websites, I will settle on the following rules for the diversified portfolio (~15-25 stocks) –

1. Asset allocation: 25% Debt/Cash – 75% Stocks

2. Diversify and buy value stocks

3. Sell a bit (1/5th) if stock increases by 25%.

4. Sell completely if stock increases by another 25%.

5. More than 50% profits – sell after one year and reinvest in another MFI stock

6. Buy more if stock falls by 20%/More than 20% loss – sell before one year (depending on the stock)

I will consider a stock that has value if it passes the conditions of Magic formula and Graham principles –

1. Low P/E (High Earnings yield) and High ROIC (assign ranking according to Magic Formula and sort for different market capitalizations (Top 25 results in 50cr, 100 cr, 250 cr, 500 cr, 1000 cr, 5000 cr))

2. Stock’s P/B < 2/3

3. Debt/Equity < 1

4. No losses sustained in the last five years.

Among the stocks that pass all these conditions, I choose the best stocks depending on –

High ROE, Good management, Not a fad/cyclical stock, No banks, fin service companies etc., Not a declining industry/bleak future prospects, No wild fluctuations in EPS for the past 5 years, preferably different sectors, and will disregard if PE < 3 (this is getting more into a comprehensive valuation category, but a high level screening of the stocks selected would be enough for a diversified portfolio).

From Chandrakant Sampath and Shankar, I will blindly buy stocks which are at a 36 month low (if I get too bored, I mean really really bored, then I will buy stocks which are at a 24 month low). Here, I exploit the principle of reversion to mean espoused by Prof Sanjay Bakshi too, but I will reserve that discussion for later.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Kurt on December 30, 2012 - 3:28 AM

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G
    .. Anyhow, fantastic site!

  2. #2 by famous chat websites on February 8, 2013 - 6:46 PM

    Your style is really unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this blog.

  3. #3 by heal these blasted hemorrhoids on February 8, 2013 - 11:40 PM

    Hi! I just would like to give you a huge thumbs up for your
    great info you’ve got here on this post. I’ll be returning
    to your website for more soon.

  4. #4 by bleeding hemorrhoids remedies on February 9, 2013 - 10:21 AM

    I think this is one of the most significant info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The site style is
    wonderful, the articles is really nice : D. Good
    job, cheers

  5. #5 by nagelpilz on February 16, 2013 - 3:12 PM

    I tend not to leave a great deal of comments, however i did a few searching and
    wound up here Diversified Portfolio Quest for Value.
    And I do have a few questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it appear like some of the comments come across like they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional sites, I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Could you list of the complete urls of your shared sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  6. #6 by emorroidi Alimentazione on March 1, 2013 - 10:08 PM

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a excellent job with this.
    Also, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera.
    Excellent Blog!

  7. #7 by mortgage advice london on May 17, 2013 - 7:10 AM

    This piece of writing provides clear idea in support of the
    new users of blogging, that in fact how to do blogging.

Leave a Reply

